What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

New York Cool - About Town

Cocktails to Announce
El Museo Gala 2008
Tuesday April 22, 2008
The Residence
of Yaz and Valentín Hernández

Written by Wendy R. Williams
Photographed by Belkis Carrasco


Opposite Photo:
Carolina and Reinaldo Herrera
(See our coverage of the
Fall 2008 Carolina Herrera
Fashion Show

Yaz and Valentín Hernández hosted a cocktail party on April 22, 2008 in honor of the upcoming El Museo's 15th Annual Gala. The Gala will take place on May 22, 2008 at Cirpriani on 42nd Street (across from Grand Central Station). According to the press release, this years' Gala will be in the style of, "a Quinceañero, a coming of age party of a daughter at the age of fifteen. For this gala, guests are invited to wear white or black with long gloves and tiaras optional [but very much hoped for by our photographer]."

El Museo was founded in 1969 (in the midst of the civil rights movement) by a group of Puerto Rican activists. Decades have now passed and El Museo has expanded its goal to cover the art of all of Latin America and the Caribbean. El Museo is presently in the midst of a huge fund raising drive with the goal of totally remodeling their present space (see New York Cool's coverage of last spring's El Museo del Barrio's Masked Ball and also the pre-ball party at the Carolina Herrera store).

The cocktail party was held at the stunning Upper East Side apartment of Yaz and Valentín Hernández. The apartment was made even more beautiful by the hosts and guests, an eclectic mix of museum supporters, fashion designers (who support El Museo) and a charming beauty queen, Riyo Mori (Miss Universe). The atmosphere at the party was fun and relaxed; this is a group that knows each other and obviously enjoys being together. And the sense of fun exhibited at the party bodes very well for a successful and fun Gala on May 22nd.

The chairs for this year's Gala are Yaz and Valentín Hernández and Ruben and Isabel Toledo (known around town as The Toledos). Gala Vice Chairs include Estrellita Brodsky, Clarissa Bronfman, and Carmen Ana Unanue. The Junior Committee Chairs are Mayra Hernández, Jana Pasquel de Shapiro, Samantha Thompson, and Whitney Wolfe.

For ticket information to this year's Gala, contact mbregman@elmuseo.org 212-660-7137. For more information about El Museo, log onto: elmuseo.org


Mariana Kaufman, Valentín, Yaz, Hernández & George Kaufman

Jana Pasqual, Fashion Designer Christian Cota, Gabriel Rivera-Bamuza, Mayra Hernandez

Ruben and Isabel Toledo
Riyo Mori (Miss Universe)
Michel Heredia Fashion Designer Angel Sanchez
Christian Cota (R) Amy Fine Collins
Don and Rosanna Brout
Museum Director Julián Zugazagoitia (R)

Otto & Rene


© New York Cool 2004-2014