What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

New York Cool - Arts

The Infinity ICP Awards Party
Chelsea Piers
May 12, 2009

Written by Wendy R. Williams
With Conribution from
Rene Levy-Abdo
Photographed by Daniel Perry

Opposite Photo:
Annie Leibovitz
Recipient of the
Lifetime Achievement Award

This years Infinity ICP (International Center for Photography) Awards were held at Chelsea Piers, giving partygoers an amazing view of the sunset as they both viewed master photographs and ogled their fellow guests (the gliterati were out in full force). Over 700 people were believed to be in attendance as famed photographer Annie Annie Leibovitz was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for Photography.

Other Award recipients were: Letizia Battaglia - Cornell Capa Award (Capa founded ICP); Gayle G. Greenhill - ICP Trustees Award: Lieko Shiga - Young Photographer; Abeek Sen - Writing; Agalaia Konrad - Desert Cities - Writing; Rinko Kawauchi - Art; Geert Van Kesteren - Baghdad Calling - Photojournalism; and Tim Walker - Applied/ Fashion/Advertising Photography.

Photographic work from each award recipient was exhibited at the party both on the walls and in a slide show during dinner.

Carmen Del 'Orefice and Fashion Designer Gilles Mendel

Other partygoers in attendance included: Model Carmen Del 'Orefice; Model Iman; Fashion Designer Gilles Mendel (of J Mendel);Fashion Designer Mark Badgley (Badgley Mischka): Writer/Editor Glenda Bailey (Harper’s Bazaar);and writer/editor Gloria Steinem (Ms. Magazine).

The International Center for Photography is located at 1133 Avenue of the Americas at 43rd Street. The ICP is both a school and a museum. Click here for more information about the Infinity ICP Awards.

Malin Ericson and Frank Salzwedel

Stephan Gan and Iman Gloria Steinem
Charlotte Moss, Alexandra Stanton
and Janice Stanton
Norma Stevens and Martin Stevens
Denise Holzer, Daniela Zahradnikova, Catherine Thompson and Brad Grossman Alexandra Kotur

Aglaia Konrad (recipient of the Wriging Award for Desert Cities)
and Leiko Shiga (recipient of the Young Photographer Award)

Deborah Willis, Nancy Lane, Lacy Austin, Gigi Loizzo and Ramiro Fernandez

Luke Magill, Peter Magill, T J Gottesdiener and Tracy Magill

© New York Cool 2004-2014