New York Cool
New York Cool: In this Issue
submit listings
New York Cool:



What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

New York Cool - About Town

Theater Communications Group
50th Anniversay Gala
Monday, April 23, 2012
Espace | New York City


Written by Wendy R. Williams
Photos Courtesy of TCG

Opposite Photo:
Teresa Erying, Ralph Bryan and Heather Randell

Theater Communications Group's mission is to support regional theater and they have been in the "business" for fifty years. In honor of this milestone, Theater Communications Group hosted their first Gala honoring the Shubert Foundation (Vicki Reiss representing the Foundation), Judith O. Rubin (executive committee member of TCG and Playwrights Horizons Board Chairman) and director Kenny Leon on April 23, 2012. The party was held at Manhattan's Espace on 14th Street between 11th and 12th.

Vicki Reiss of the Shubert Foundation, TCG Executive Director Teresa Eyring,
Kenny Leon and Judith Rubin

Sally Struthers and Jennifer Cody emceed the event. Introducing both the productions numbers from three new musicals (Hands on a Hard Body, Giant, and Super Fly) and the presenters. The event was co-chaired by Ralph Bryan and Heather Randall (theatrical producer and wife of the late great Tony Randall).

Actor Beau Bridges and Director Kenny Leon

Guests included: Robert Rubin (former Secretary of the Treasury and husband to Judith Rubin), Gretchen Rubin, Jamie Rubin, Metromedia's Stuart Subotnick, writer Karen Pritzker, Judy Lynn Prince (Mrs. Hal Prince), Broadway producer Anita Waxman, playwright William Ivey Long, actor Beau Bridges, Cathy Hardwick, Princess Kovolenko, playwright Lydia Diamond, New York City Commissioner of the Department of Cultural Affairs Kate Levin and Tony Award winning actress Tonya Pinkins.

Emcee Sally Struthers spoke fondly of TCG saying "Many of the wonderful experiences that I’ve had onstage are directly related to the funding and care that TCG has put in to supporting their 500 member theatre’s."


Teresa Eyring and Kevin E. Moore Kristina Kovolenko and Cathy Hardwick

The evening had the feel of a college reunion - the guests knew each other and were thrilled to reconnect. Sally Struthers introduced director Kenny Leon's new bride (of two weeks). She also spoke of how proud she was of her foster child Judith Rubin - a joke about Sally's role as a spokesperson for Save the Children which brought down the room. (P. S. If you laughed, please send a check to Save the Children).

As Robert Rubin left the event, he was asked for his own take on the theater. "I've seen Clybourne Park four times," naming the Pulitzer Prize winning play about racial values and real estate (premiered at Playwrights Horizons) -- "and I'm about to go again. Be sure to see it."

The Honorary Gala Committee includes: F. Murray Abraham, Douglas Carter Beane, Beau Bridges, James Bundy, Kate Burton, Charles Busch, Michael Cerveris, Rick Elice, Philip Himberg, Rachel Kraft, Patti LuPone, David Hyde Pierce, Phylicia Rashad, Roger Rees, Tim Robbins, Olga Sanchez, Roche Schulfer, Stephen Sondheim, Ben Vereen and Doug Wright.


For 50 years, Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for the American theatre, has existed to strengthen, nurture and promote the professional not-for- profit American theatre. TCG’s constituency has grown from a handful of groundbreaking theatres to nearly 700 member theatres and affiliate organizations and more than 12,000 individuals nationwide. TCG offers its members networking and knowledge-building opportunities through conferences, events, research and communications; awards grants, approximately $2 million per year, to theatre companies and individual artists; advocates on the federal level; and serves as the U.S. Center of the International Theatre Institute, connecting its constituents to the global theatre community. TCG is North America’s largest independent publisher of dramatic literature, with 11 Pulitzer Prizes for Best Play on the TCG booklist. It also publishes the award-winning AMERICAN THEATRE magazine and ARTSEARCH®, the essential source for a career in the arts. In all of its endeavors, TCG seeks to increase the organizational efficiency of its member theatres, cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the field and promote a larger public understanding of, and appreciation for, the theatre.

TCG Board of Directors, includes: Douglas R. Brown, Ralph Bryan, James Bundy, Dawn Chiang, Mark Cuddy, Lydia Diamond, Cynthia Fuhrman, Joseph Haj, Andrew Hamingson, Aimée Hayes, Michelle Hensley, Ed Herendeen, Philip Himberg, Robert Hupp, Morgan Jenness, Chris Jennings, Tim Jennings, Marshall Jones III, Rachel Kraft, Martha Lavey, Marc Masterson, Kevin Moriarty, Jonathan Moscone, Lynn Nottage, Ralph Peña, Diane Rodriguez, Olga Sanchez, Sean San Jose, Roche Schulfer, Mark Shugoll, Mark Valdez, Clyde Valentin, Megan Wanlass, Kate Warner, and Angel Ysaguirre. Executive Director: Teresa Eyring.











© New York Cool 2004-2014