New York Cool

What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

Council for Canadian American Relations 40th Anniversary Gala
April 30, 2014

Opposite Photo: Wilbur Ross, Madeline Desmarais, Hillary Geary Ross and Alexander Desmarais

Photo Credit: Owen Hoffmann and Jonathan Ziegler / Patrick McMullan Company

On a very rainy April 30, 2014, Jacqueline Desmarais, patron of the musical arts and benefactor of young musicians, and Frank Gehry, iconoclastic architect and design visionary, were honored by the Council for Canadian American Relations (CCAR) at its 40th anniversary Gala dinner in New York City at the private club on the Upper East Side of manhattan. The Honorary Gala Chairmen were The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney and Mrs. Mila Mulroney, and The Honorable Hilary M. Weston and W. Galen Weston. Audrey and David Mirvish with Lauren and John J. Veronis were the Gala Co-Chairs. The gala hosted prominent dignitaries as well as leaders in business, the arts, and public life from both countries.

Peter Gelb, Former Prime Minister of Canada Brian Mulroney,
Jacqueline Desmarais and Ambassador Gary Doer

Guests that attended included: David and Carol Appel, Count and Countess Arco, Michael Audain, Ashleigh Banfield, Aszure Barton, Dennis Basso, Charles and Rita Bronfman, Geoff Beattie and Amanda Lang, Lucien Bouchard, Zita Cobb, Mr. and Mrs. Philippe de Gaspé Beaubien, Brad Cloepfil and Lisa Strasfeld, Tom d’ Aquino, Sophie Desmarais and Daniel Valoatto, Ambassador Gary Doer, Rupert Duchesne, Dee Dee Taylor Eustace, Leslie Feely, James Fleck, Robert Foster, Sam Gehry, Peter Gelb, Peter Herrndorf and Eva Czigler, Ambassador Bruce and Vicky Heyman, Ambassador David and Julie Jacobson, Bank of Montreal, Hélène de Kovachich and Pierre Marc Johnson, Greg Kane and Adrian Burns, Dorothy Kosinski and Thomas Krähenbühl, Phyllis Lambert, Robert Lepage, Jessica London, Robert McEwen, Diana McQueen, David Mirvish, Brian and Mila Mulroney, Anthony Munk, Kent Nagano and Madeleine Careau, Judy Ney and Lee Elman, Gordon Nixon, David and Gail O’Brien, Gordon and Dailey Pattee, Dominique Poirier, Consul General John Prato, John and Phyllis Rae, Ambassador Guillermo E. Rishchynski, Leon and Paula Root, Wilbur Ross and Hilary Geary Ross, Francois Roy, Dame Jillian Sackler, Stephen and Christine Schwarzman, Jay Smith, Lesley S. Smith, Frank and Harriet Stella, Peter Stringham, Ambassador Kenneth Taylor, Matthew Tietelbaum, Stephane Tétreault, Arni Thornsteinson, John and Lauren Veronis, and Hilary and Galen Weston.

The gala evening’s program highlighted the accomplishments of its distinguished honorees, whose contributions have made a significant difference in the arts and culture of both Canada and the United States. The evening was also a celebration of CCAR's 40 years of achievement, as well as the organization's future plans for important cultural collaborations between Canada and the United States. A portion of the funds raised during the event will go a newly named Jacqueline Desmarais Fund for Young Artists and to the TurnaroundArts initiative (an affiliate of the President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities) on behalf of Frank Gehry.












© New York Cool 2004-2014