New York Cool

What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

Theatre Communications Group
Annual Gala
583 Park Avenue
November 10, 2014

Opposite Photo:
Jessica Hecht

On Monday, November 10, 2014, Theatre Communications Group (TCG) celebrated its annual gala. This year the organization honored Jules Fisher, Lynn Nottage, and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation at 583 Park Avenue in New York City. The evening began with cocktails at 6:00 followed by dinner and special performances at 7:00. The performances included previews of two productions from TCG Member Theatres: "A Walk on the Moon" (New York Stage and Film) and "Immediate Family" (About Face Theatre, Center Theatre Group, and the Goodman Theatre). Guests wore festive attire.

Joshua Dachs, Jules Fisher, Teresa Eyring, Lynn Nottage, Paul Oakley Stovall,
Phylicia Rashad, Kevin Moore and Ben Cameron
Photo Credit: Jonathan Zeigler/ Patrick McMullan Company

The honorees were all chosen because of their remarkable careers and their impact on TCG.

Judy Rubin and Ben Cameron
Photo Credit: Jonathan Zeigler/ Patrick McMullan Company

“We’re thrilled to celebrate three honorees that have made such an indelible impact on the theatre field,” said Teresa Eyring, executive director of TCG. “From Jules Fisher’s living legacy in designing lights for over 300 productions on and off-Broadway; to Doris Duke Charitable Foundation’s transformative support for theatres and theatre artists; to the modern-day classics such as "Intimate Apparel" and the Pulitzer Prize-winning "Ruined" penned by Lynn Nottage; the 2014 Gala is an opportunity to express our gratitude for these honorees who have given our field so much.”

The event featured a “Who’s Who” of American Theatre. The Gala Chair was Joshua Dachs, the Honorary Gala Chairs were Ruth and Stephen Hendel, and the host of the evening was Jessica Hecht.

George C. Wolfe presented Jules Fisher his award, Kate Whoriskey presented to Lynn Nottage, and Judith O. Rubin presented to the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, accepted by Ben Cameron, Program Director for the Arts.

Guests who attended included: Joseph P. Benincasa, president of The Actors Fund, Eric Bogosian and Jo Bonney, and Phylicia Rashad, director of "Immediate Family."

Other guests included: Joseph P. Benincasa, Eric Bogosian, Jo Bonney, Ping Chong, Elizabeth Le Compte, Kelly Cooper, Larry and Sophie Cripe, Josh and Ako Dachs, Rinde Eckert, Brad and Louise Edgerton, Teresa Eyring, David and Kiki Ramos Gindler, Sheldon and Margery Harnick, Ted Hartley, Steve and Ruth Hendel, Rhoda Herrick, Barbara Howard, David Henry Hwang, Julia Jarcho, Noel Kirnon, Pavel Liska, Richard Maxwell, Michael Mayer, Kevin E. Moore, Raelle Myrick-Hodges, Lynn Nottage, Heather Randall, Phylicia Rashad, Vicki Reiss, Diane Rodriguez, Judith O. Rubin, Roche Schulfer, Paula Tomei, Basil Twist, Robert Warren, Kate Whoriskey, and George C. Wolfe.













© New York Cool 2004-2014