What's Up For Today?

New York Cool - Ask Miss Wendy

Yuko Ito
O Cantador

Written by Wendy R Williams

Opposite Photo: Yuko Ito


"I know that nothing in life is fair but I don't ever want to give up. Even if you are trying to take every thing from me, you can not take my heart. I am nobody and I have nothing but I can play guitar and sing." Yuko Ito.

Yuko Ito

New York chanteuse (by way of Japan) has just released her latest Brazilian jazz album of Brazilian jazz, O Cantador. The language is Portuguese but the emotion is sung in the universal language of the heart.

Ito uses her throaty voice to express the romance of Brazil, from the familiar upbeat tempos of "Mas Que Nada and "Samba de Verao(Bossa Nova)" to the poignant sounds of "Travessia" and "O Cantador." And you need not understand a word or Portuguese to feel the story of "Guerrilla."

There are no misses in this album, which includes the Japanese ballad, "Takeda No Komori-uta" and ends with the upbeat and fun balle, "Serrado."

Both thumbs up.

The album is dedicated to Yuko's mother Shizuko Ito and Cidinho Texeira's mother Cecilia B. Texeira, both of whom died while Yuko and Cidinho were working on the album.


Track listing:

1 Mas Que Nada / Jorge Ben
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira/ Vera Mara)
2. Samba de Verão / Marcos Valle / Paulo Sérgio Valle
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira)
3. Travessia/ Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira)
4. Sina / Djavan
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira / Yuko Ito)
5. Batucada Surgiu / Marcos Valle
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira)
6. Guerrilla ( Eu Nao Sou Nimguem) Takehiko Kogure
Portugese lyrics by Yuko Ito
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira / Yuko Ito)
7. Eu Só Quero Um Xodó / Dominguinhos / Anastásia
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira)
8. O Cantador / Dori Caymmi / Nelson Motta
(music arrangement by Cidinho Texeira / Vera Mara)
9. Takeda No Komori-uta / Japanese traditional
(music arrangement by Yuko Ito)
10. Serrado / Djavan
(music arrangement by Cidinho Teixeira /Mauricio Zottarelli)

Yuko Ito on Vocals
Cidinho Teixeira on Piano and Accordion
Gustavo Amarante on Base #1, 4, 5, 8, 10
Mauricio Zottarelli on Drums and Percussion #1, 4, 5, 8, 10
Oriente Lopez on Flue # 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9
Leco Reis on Bass # 2, 3, 6, 7, 9
Adriano Santos on Drums #2, 3, 6, 7, 9
Edgar DeAlmeida on Guitar #2, 6
Aaron Heick on Alto Sax # 1, 5, 10













© New York Cool 2004-2014